2008 College POY Winning Images and Winners List

2008 WNPA College Photographer of the Year winner’s list:

Sports Action
1st – Brad Fedie, Daily Cardinal – basketball collision
2nd – Matt Dixon, Marquette University – basketball collision
3rd – Ryan Messier, Marquette University – basketball collision
HM – Kyle Bursaw, Daily Cardinal – knockout
HM – Lorenzo Zemella, Daily Cardinal – track

Sports Feature
1st – Ryan Messier, Marquette University – basketball celebration
2nd – Brad Fedie, Daily Cardinal – The Big House
3rd – Matthew Wisniewski, Janesville Gazette – Shirtless Soccer
HM – Jeff Schorfheide, Badger Herald – reflect-o ball
HM – Matthew Wisniewski, Janesville Gazette  – football loss

1st – Alice M Waraxa, MATC – cancer survivor
2nd – Cate Hrobsky, MATC – happy bikers
3rd – Cate Hrobsky, MATC – olde tyme woman
HM – Jodee Boyd, Stevens Point – woman in kitchen

Photo Illustration
1st – Tony Saldutte, MATC – egg and needle
2nd – Shauna Braun, MATC – woman boxer
3rd – Wilkey Godwin, MATC – cat grass
HM – Shauna Braun, MATC – lips
HM – Tony Saldutte, MATC – band

Spot News
1st – Matthew Wisniewski, Janesville Gazette – painterly fire
2nd – Isabel Alvarez, Daily Cardinal – Lake Delton house crash
3rd – Jeff Schorfheide, Badger Herald – protestors
HM – Jacob Ela, Daily Cardinal – accident scene
HM – Kris Ugarriza, Daily Cardinal – frat fire

General News –
1st – Matthew Wisniewski, Janesville Gazette – soldier talks at school
2nd – Kris Ugarriza, Daily Cardinal – beery arrest
3rd – Kyle Bursaw, Daily Cardinal – court
HM – Kris Ugarriza, Wisconsin State Journal – welcome home

1st – Kris Ugarriza, Wisconsin State Journal  – wind surfer
2nd – Wilkey Godwin, Milwaukee Area Technical College – a family and their dog
3rd – Lukas Keapproth, Badger Herald – elderly woman
HM – Matt Dixon, Marquette University – dancer on stage

1st – Alice M Waraxa, MATC – succulent plant
2nd – Matt Dixon, Marquette University – storm on the lake
3rd – Shauna Braun, MATC – wheat field walk
HM – Wilkey Godwin, MATC – olde tyme guitar

News Picture Story
1st – Jeff Schorfheide, Badger Herald, RNC
2nd – Matthew Wisniewski, Janesville Gazette, Floods
3rd – Jodee Boyd, Stevens Point, ceremony

Feature Picture Story
1st – Matthew Wisniewski, Janesville Gazette, poverty
2nd – Lukas Keapproth, Badger Herald – Chinese workers preparing for the Olympics
3rd – Kyle Bursaw, Daily Cardinal –  Harley Fest

Sports Picture Story
1st – Kyle Bursaw, Daily Cardinal, Bowl Game
2nd – Isabel Alvarez, Daily Cardinal, Victory
3rd – Brad Fedie, Daily Cardinal, Badger basketball

1st – Matt Wisniewski, Janesville Gazette
2nd – Kyle Bursaw, Daily Cardinal
3rd – Matt Dixon, Marquette Univerity
Honorable Mention – Michelle Miresse, MATC

Leave a Reply